Queer Feminist Navratri | Queer Shaktism

I can almost hear people struggling to contain themselves from calling me a patriarch (for deifying women?) or an anti-Hindu (for deifying women outside of popular tradition’s injunction). So I’m going to give you the pleasure. Here is a nine day series which will seek to deify women who have largely been left to the sides in popular discourse. If all women are Devi, then there are several Devi manifestations we are missing or dismissing.

Starting Navratri, I shall write on 9 women shrugged to the side, even as we brandish our batons tied with red festoons in a bid to venerate Shakti, the feminine principle of Hindu philosophy.

I shall attempt to keep the posts free of unnecessary emphasis on physical beauty of the Goddesses, focusing more on their characters and traits. Because the Goddesses come in all shapes and sizes, even as I write only on 9.

In case I do come off as a jerk while writing these posts, please be merciful to me and tell me what is problematic. I wish to spark a debate on women’s rights using the auspicious time, and no debate has ever existed with just one point of view.

Leave a comment